Skip to main content


The BYU Cougars Men's Lacrosse team currently competes in the Men's College Lacrosse Association (MCLA) as a member of the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse Conference (RMLC). The BYU Lacrosse team was founded in 1975; however, significant records of the team only date back to 1995 when Jason Lamb began his tenure as head coach. The BYU Lacrosse team had four wins and five losses (4-5) in their first season under Coach Lamb, accounting for their only losing season on record. The Cougars went 13-3 in his second season and have not had a losing season since. The summer of 2009 brought a coaching change to the lacrosse team when long-time assistant, Matt Schneck took over the reigns as the Head Coach. In his second season as Head Coach, Schneck led the Cougars to their fourth National Championship. With the 2011 Championship, Schneck became the first person in MCLA History to win a National Championship as both player (1997) and Head Coach (2011).

The Cougars won the national championship in 1997, 2000, 2007, and 2011. The Cougars have won the RMLC championship eight times in the past 15 years, capturing the title in 1997-1999, 2001, 2005, 2007, 2008, and 2009. Through the completion of the 2015 season, the Cougars remain the only MCLA Division 1 Team in the country to have played in the MCLA National Championship Tournament every year since its inception in 1997.